

## Householders' Options to Protect the Environment Inc.

PO Box 6118 – Clifford Gardens, Toowoomba QLD 4350 (22 Vacy Street, Toowoomba QLD 4350)
Ph 07 4639 2135; Email: office@hopeaustralia.org.au
Website: http://www.hopeaustralia.org.au
ABN 48 036 173 161

Think Globally. Act Locally!

# Minutes of HOPE Inc's 2024 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Saturday, 9th November 2024

(HOPE Office, 22 Vacy Street, Toowoomba QLD 4350)

(Last amended – 9 November 2024)

HOPE Australia is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.

Topic: 2023-24 AGM & 2024-2025 1st Ordinary Meeting | Time: Nov 9, 2024 10:00 AM Brisbane https://us06web.zoom.us/ij/2448320576?pwd=ay9PUUhDSTBSM2cxV3BNUGdtclEydz09&omn=83257385149

#### **AGENDA:**

- 1. Meeting commenced at 10am
- 2. Introductions, apologies, proxy votes
  - a. Attendees:
    - i. Physical: Frank Ondrus, Kerry Kruger, Miriam Sharp and Anna Kula-Kaczmarski
  - b. ZOOM: Andrew Nicholson, Charmaine Turnbull and Taelum Slijderink
  - c. Apologies: Jerry Coleby-Willaims, Mark Whitelegg, Ahri Tallon (DDEC), Jenny Withnall (DDEC) & Janet Bishop
  - d. Proxy Votes: Nil
- 3. Declaration(s) of Conflict of Interest: Nil
- 4. Minutes of the 2023 AGM to be passed as a true record
  - → Moved by Anna Kula-Kaczmarski, seconded by Charmaine Turnbull. Agreed by all present.
- 5. Office Manager's Report (see summary report attached)
- 6. President's Report (to be presented at the meeting)
- 7. Treasurer's Report
  - Audited accounts for 2023-2024 (to be presented at meeting)
    - → Motion to adopt 2023-2024 audited accounts. Moved by Miriam Sharp, seconded by Anna Kula-Kaczmarski. Agreed by all present.

(All copies to be signed by both Treasurer & President  $\rightarrow$  Done)

- ATO (Business Activity Statement (BAS) return for 2023-2024 Refund of \$125
- Annual report to Australian Charities and Not-for-profit Commission (ACNC) → to be submitted shortly

- Opening balance as at 31 October 2023 = \$7,632.35
  - HOPE General Account balance as at 31 Oct 2024 = \$3,169.81
  - HOPE Gift Fund account balance as at 31 Oct 2024 = \$215.01
- Closing balance as at 31 October 2024 (date of Transaction files) = \$3,384.82
- 8. Other reports
  - Social Media statistics and analytics"
    - Facebook = 1163; Instagram = 116, LinkedIn = 219; and X (Twitter) = 1328
- 9. Motion

### Re: Cessation of Bank Cheques and required changes to our Westpac accounts

**Preamble:** Given the impending cessation of cheques by our bank, Westpac, it has been suggested that we expedite the matter by converting both our accounts to debit card access with online banking facility

1. That the HOPE Office Manager be added to both the HOPE General Account and the HOPE Gift Fund as the only signatory with debit card access and online banking access as follows:

Account 1 Name: Householders' Options to Protect the Environment Inc.

Account 1 Number: 034-242 155 211 Method of Operation: 2 to authorise payments

Signatory: Frank Ondrus, HOPE Office Manager

Miriam Sharp, Treasurer Kerry Kruger, Secretary

Debit Mastercard Access: Frank Ondrus, HOPE Office Manager Online Banking Administrator: Frank Ondrus, HOPE Office Manager

Account 2 Name: HOPE Gift Fund
Account 2 Number: 034-242 428 494
Method of Operation: 2 to authorise payments

Signatory: Derek Tuffield

Rhonda Munro Mark Whitelegg

Debit Mastercard Access: Frank Ondrus, HOPE Office Manager Online Banking Administrator Frank Ondrus, HOPE Office Manager

- → Moved by Miriam Sharp, Treasurer, seconded by Kerry Kruger. Accepted by all present.
- That all unused cheques for the HOPE General Account and the HOPE Gift Fund are returned to Westpac within one (1) month of confirmation that the above changes have been implemented by Westpac.
  - → Moved Miriam Sharp, Treasurer, seconded by Anna Kula-Kaczmarski. Agreed by all present.
- 3. That the HOPE Constitution is amended at the earliest opportunity to reflect the changes in the manner of banking from the use of cheques to the use of a debit card and online banking.
  - → Moved Miriam Sharp, Treasurer, seconded by Kerry Kruger. Agreed by all present.

#### 10. Election of 2024-2025 Executive Committee members, etc.

- President Anna Kula-Kaczmarski Nominated by Frank Ondrus, seconded by Miriam Sharp
- Secretary Kerry Kruger → Nominated by Frank Ondrus, seconded by Anna Kula-Kaczmarski
- Treasurer Miriam Sharp → Nominated by Frank Ondrus, seconded by Kerry Kruger
   → Approved by all present.
- Extra member selected from admin support staff listed below
- Ordinary members who fulfil administration support roles as:

Office Manager Frank Ondrus
 Newsletter Editor\* Nina Stick
 Website Administrator\* Yaoyao Jiang

Media officers\* Jason Dingley, Nancy Maria, Pooja Devi & Rachel Telan

Membership Officer\* (Office Manager)
 Volunteer Coordinator\* (Office Manager)

Social Media Administrator\* Charmaine Turnbull

Facebook/LinkedIn\* Charmaine Turnbull

■ Twitter/Instagram\* Liam Carroll

■ TikTok\* -

- Admin assistants\* (i.e., researchers, office assistants, etc.)
  - --- Andrew Nicholson, Callum Fisher, Cassandra Adofo-Kissi, Frank Lee, Gabriel Malandu, Georgy Hadwen, Karyne Maurmann, Lizzie Pennington, Samy Leyton & Shuri Matsumoto
- \* These positions can be undertaken remotely by phone and email communication.
- → All administration support positions nominated by Anna Kula-Kaczmarski and seconded by Miriam Sharp. Agreed by all present.
- 11. Nomination of Patron: Jerry Coleby-Williams (from ABC's Gardening Australia program)
  - → Moved by Frank Ondrus, seconded by Kerry Kruger. Agreed by all present.
- 12. Nomination of auditor: JG Audit & Assurance

  Moved by Miriam Sharp, seconded by Anna Kula-Kaczmarski. Agreed by all present.
- 13. Complete and return OFT "Annual Return" form → To be dealt with by Treasurer and President
- 14. Next AGM scheduled for 9 November 2025

15.. Meeting closed at 10.45am

Frank Ordus

Out-going President – Frank Ondrus

Secretary - Kerry Kruger

\* Kruger

9 November 2024